The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse (1921)

3/5 (1)

“The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse” is a silent film directed by Rex Ingram and released in 1921. The film is based on the novel of the same name by Vicente Blasco Ibáñez and is set during World War I.

The story follows the wealthy Argentinian family of Julio Madariaga, who is a staunch supporter of Germany. However, when his grandson Julio Desnoyers falls in love with the Frenchwoman Marguerite Laurier, the family becomes divided by the war.

As the conflict intensifies, Julio Desnoyers and Marguerite are caught up in the chaos of battle, with Julio fighting for the Germans and Marguerite aiding the French resistance. The four horsemen of the apocalypse – Conquest, War, Famine, and Death – serve as a metaphor for the devastation wrought by the war and its impact on the characters.

The film was a major commercial success and helped launch the career of its lead actor, Rudolph Valentino. It also marked a significant milestone in the history of cinema, as one of the first films to portray the war in a realistic and nuanced manner. Despite its age, it remains a powerful and thought-provoking examination of the human cost of war.

Rex Ingram

Vicente Blasco Ibáñez, June Mathis

Rudolph Valentino,Alice Terry, Pomeroy Cannon

Rate this Movie

Spread the love