L’Inferno (1911)

3/5 (1)

“L’Inferno” is a silent Italian film, released in 1911 and directed by Francesco Bertolini, Adolfo Padovan, and Giuseppe de Liguoro. It is based on the first part of Dante Alighieri’s “Divine Comedy,” which describes the journey of Dante through the nine circles of Hell.

The film is divided into 34 segments, each corresponding to one of the cantos of the “Inferno.” It begins with Dante being led by the poet Virgil into the dark forest, where he encounters the three beasts of pride, envy, and avarice. Unable to pass, Dante is guided by Virgil through the gates of Hell, where he witnesses the torments of sinners in the first circle of Limbo.

As Dante and Virgil descend further, they encounter the souls of the damned in each of the circles of Hell. These include the lustful, the gluttonous, the wrathful, the heretics, the violent, the fraudulent, and the treacherous. Dante also encounters some of the historical figures and mythological characters who are punished in Hell, including Cleopatra, Julius Caesar, and Ulysses.

The film is notable for its special effects and innovative techniques, including the use of miniatures and hand-painted backdrops to create the various circles of Hell. It also features impressive costumes and makeup to depict the grotesque and terrifying creatures that Dante encounters in Hell.

Overall, “L’Inferno” is a pioneering film that brought one of the most famous literary works of all time to the screen in a stunning and captivating way. It remains a classic of silent cinema and a testament to the power of Dante’s vision of Hell.

Francesco Bertolini, Adolfo Padovan, Giuseppe de Liguoro

Dante Alighieri

Salvatore Papa, Arturo Pirovano, Giuseppe de Liguoro

Rate this Movie

Spread the love