Alice in Wonderland (1915) summary

3/5 (1)

The 1915 silent film “Alice in Wonderland” is a loose adaptation of Lewis Carroll’s beloved classic children’s book. The movie was directed by W.W. Young and starred Viola Savoy as Alice.

The film begins with Alice sitting on a riverbank with her sister, reading a book. She falls asleep and has a dream where she follows a white rabbit into a rabbit hole. She finds herself in a strange, fantastical world where she encounters various bizarre characters and has surreal adventures.

Alice meets the Cheshire Cat, the Mad Hatter, and the Queen of Hearts, among other memorable characters. She plays a game of croquet with the Queen, who threatens to have her beheaded when Alice accidentally breaks a rule. Alice is eventually woken up from her dream by her sister.

The film is notable for its creative special effects, which were groundbreaking for their time. It also features a unique, whimsical visual style that captures the spirit of Carroll’s original story.

Overall, “Alice in Wonderland” (1915) is a charming and imaginative adaptation of a beloved classic that remains popular with audiences of all ages.

W.W. Young

Lewis Carroll, W.W. Young

Viola Savoy, Herbert Rice, Harry Marks

Rate this Movie

Spread the love